Review – Odessa by Jonathan Hill

Rating: 5 out of 5.

I received an e-ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Odessa is a wholesome as fuck graphic novel set in a dystopian future where three siblings travel across the country looking for their mother. Beautiful art and a beautiful story, I am so excited for the next volume!

I loved everything about this book. The characters were amazing and the banter and relationships between the siblings felt so real. The art style is so unique and beautifully rendered in shades of pink really brightens up the really dark setting of a post-natural disaster world. The story is dark at times, and devastatingly sad at others, but it’s so heartwarming the whole way through.

I’d recommend Odessa to anyone! I think it would be both a really good place to start for people new to graphic novels, but also offers a great adventure story with unique art and developed characters that makes graphic novels so so good. Out the 3 November 2020 from OniPress, so still a long way to wait, (and an even longer wait until volume 2 for me!)

Order closer to the release date from Readings Australia or preorder now from Dymocks Australia

All photos and opinions are my own. I am not affiliated with any publisher or retailer, all links and provided information are for convenience.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started